1, 2, 3 Tequilas….


When life gives us lemons, add some salt and Tequila…a few shots…!

The word “Tequila” comes from the Aztec language, Nahuatl Tequillan, name of the region where it originated, where blue agave plants are still harvested today.

3 main Tequila categories:

  1. Blanco – Un-aged and bottled within two months of distillation
  2. Reposado – Aged between two-twelve months in barrels
  3. Anejo – Aged between 1-3 years in small oak barrels
  4. Two additional categories seen include:
    1. Joven or Oro – mixture of Blanco and Reposado tequilas
    2. Extra Anejo – Aged 3-5 years in oak barrels

1 Tequila, 2 Tequilas…we know how it goes. 3 main types of Tequila, based on age and distillation: Blanco, Reposado, and Anejo

  1. “Blanco,” or silver tequila, the most popular with aficionados in Tequila’s home region. It’s un-aged, so never stored in wooden casks, allowing for stronger notes of agave to come through
  2. “Reposado” means “rest” and it takes a little siesta, before making its way to us. It is matured in a cask for 2 to 11 months, so it will collect slight vanilla, caramel and other sweet, woody flavours
  3. “Anejo” or “extra anejo” Tequila has spent long lengths of time, gathering deeper, woodier tannic notes, like black tea and chocolate, in addition to its agave flavours

With a 38% – 55% alcohol content, it’s a great aphrodisiac, with feisty, magical and medicinal qualities.

Ultra-Premium Ley .925 Passion Azteca, is the most expensive Tequila, $225,000 to a whopping $3,500,000


Me voy de fiesta…!

Leave a Reply